102

Over the weekend I went to Kandy to attend my husbands great grandfathers funeral. Aththa was 102. Although I didn’t really get a chance to know him as well as I would have liked, from all the stories I heard, it seems like he was quite a character.

It gave me an opportunity to get to know one part of my new family and even though it wasn’t under the best circumstances they were so welcoming and accepting. 

I find attending funerals quite daunting cause I’m one who never knows the right thing to say. I don’t know how other people easily get into small talk with strangers. I’m usually such a chatterbox. Anyway Ive come to realise that the best thing to do is just give everyone a hug and or politely shake hands without mumbling a word and then wait for a senior family member to fill the silence.  It worked like a charm this past weekend.

Something that irritated me was when people kept asking who I was.  I wish they would have asked me directly without asking someone standing only a few feet away from me, clearly knowing I would overhear. Why are Sri Lankan’s so curious and nosy?? This one lady after nosily finding out my link to the family came up to me and went on about how much I look like my mother in law. A compliment definitely, but why do people say such stupid things? I mean do they need to make such statements in order to feel less guilty for being intrusive?? I was rescued by Aththamma once when she overheard someone inquiring about me and promptly told them to mind their own business. I couldn’t stop laughing. 🙂 

This particular funeral was a different experience altogether cause although everyone was sad at Aththa’s passing, we were so glad that he had really lead a full life right to the end. 102 years. WOW! That’s living through the entire 20th century. Aththamma of course had proclaimed that she was stitching a white sari jacket a week in advance in anticipation, which was quite hilarious. Aththamma is a healthy 103 and still goes about her usual household duties. Maybe at their age, people become more realistic! 🙂

The funeral was beautiful, with so many people turning up to pay their final respects to a man who had been a mentor, teacher and confidant. I will truly miss him. May Aththa attain Nibbana.

Comments
One Response to “102”
  1. Harumi says:

    Sad to hear about the grandfather.. I too wish him to attain the supreme bliss of Nibbana!

    And yep, Lankan people are nosy, a thing of our culture perhaps, especially the ones here (I live in a suburb off the hill capital) so I’m quite used to it.. =D But nevertheless it sure IS irritating.. hehe..

    That was really nice your new relatives gave you a warm welcome. And yep, it’s true with most grandmas and grandpas, they’ve all lived their lives to the fullest, with no regrets. Hopefully we could feel the same too, by then.

    Nice post.. ^__^

Leave a Reply

