Shocking Behaviour

I thought i had road rage till this morning when some shocking behaviour was displayed by a fellow driver. I normally take the townhall-park street-staples street route to get to work. Like every other day two lines had been formed to turn right to Park Street. I was in the outer line when this white van drove past with its drivers door open and the driver leaning out. I found this quite strange but ignored it nonetheless as “just another Sri Lankan thing”.

What happened next made me gasp in horror! The guy in the white van, abruptly stopped in the middle of the road in front of me and got down. He then started looking around for something. I was thinking he probably dropped something when he was leaning out the van when suddenly he started running towards this elderly gentleman on a motor bike who was going past. He then shook this man fiercely and then shook the motor cycle which made it wobble dangerously and the old man only gained control of it after a good 15 seconds.

The light had turned green for us to turn. No one moved. No one tooted their horns. We sat their in shock for another 5 seconds before I finally decided to press the accelerator. The gentlemen on the motorcycle changed his direction and followed me. I let him pass just to make sure he was alright. He seemed alright but he kept shaking his head from side to side.

I know many of us do stupid things on the road in order to get to our destinations as fast as we possibly can. We all cut other motorists off once in a while. I for one (confession) particularly target motorcyclists and trishaws cause they annoy the shit out of me, but whatever this motorcyclist did to the man in van does not justify this kind of behavior. You do not simply get down and assault people on the road. It is unacceptable!!!!

I’m still shocked!

Photo Credit: http://www.isheepthings.com/blog/

Comments
4 Responses to “Shocking Behaviour”
  1. Sabby says:

    Jeez, are you serious??
    What a terrible man :S

  2. Angel says:

    0_0 shocking indeed!

  3. someone says:

    i think its normal…. I would do something like that… but I do consider the age….

  4. residentprincess says:

    Sabby and Angel – Tell me about it!

    Someone – But you cant just assault people no matter what their age. Its a different thing to swear at them though.

Leave a Reply

