Up up and away….

A very close friend of mine celebrated his birthday yesterday. We normally get out of town but this a year decided to notch up the celebrations and hopped on a hot air balloon in Dambulla.

The experience was amazing!

I am terrified of heights and was having mixed feelings about the whole thing but didn’t even realise that we had taken off. Although it was a one hour flight, I hardly felt the time going by with my constant “ooh’s” and “ahh’s”.

If you haven’t tried it already, I highly recommend it. It’s offered by two companies; Sri Lanka Ballooning and Adventure Asia. We went with Sri Lanka Ballooning and I must say I didn’t feel unsafe at all throughout the one hour flight.

I’m told that the hot air balloon festival is going to be held soon. Keep your eyes and ears open. It will be an awesome spectacle!

 

Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/8586609@N04/2331774249/

Comments
2 Responses to “Up up and away….”
  1. Hey…. Sounds fun.. I’m going to try this out… I was running out of things to do in Sri Lanka…. lol… Thanks for this… Cheers…

  2. bookjunkie says:

    Wow the country of my dreams…Sri Lanka is gorgeous 🙂

Leave a Reply

